Give me a Sign

Wawa.  It’s just fun to say it and I mean no disrespect to the friendly people who live there. Our server at 17 North Restaurant told us that Wawa in Ojibway means goose and we’re actually pronouncing it incorrectly.  It’s “way-way” not “wah-wah.” Either way it’s my new favourite word.image

The first sign that caught my eye this morning was at a tiny motel that also sold gas and as I found out very stale gum.  It said “General Store,  Bait,  Ice and Guideing.”  Whoops someone missed the spell check.  After that I started to focus on signs.  Very distracting because they are everywhere — that could be another cross country trip all together.

image

I admit to being a tad upset when I noticed pictures from the past few days all have a smudge in the same spot. No amount of wiping or cleaning the lens helped so I guess our trusty camera is off to a repair shop.  So no it’s not a dark cloud on a beautiful sunny day. And look what we found in Sault Ste. Marie – Herbie the Love Bug.

image

Tonight we had the absolute pleasure of reconnecting with friends Dolores & her daughter Lexi and to meet Lexi’s children Zayden and Zaria.  Great hilarity ensued and I’ve got crayon fridge art that will have a place of honour in our trip scrapbook.  Tomorrow we’re aiming for Parry Sound and a visit with a high school pal of mine.

image.png

Love & hugs from the road…

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment