And this year’s theme is…

Yes can be a scary place. Means I have to venture out of my comfort zone. Even if saying yes means adventure and fun. Because my inner voice can be a real arse. Makes a list, and I sure do love lists, of all the reasons I can’t or shouldn’t do things. My family and friends can attest sometimes a gentle nudge doesn’t work. Sometimes I need a good hard shove. Am super thankful by the way for my bossy posse who won’t take no for an answer ❤️

The Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes jumped out at me a few years ago at my favourite secondhand bookstore. I don’t normally read autobiographies or memoirs but I had just started watching Grey’s Anatomy ( I was a little late to the party) and found myself nodding in agreement page after page. It was Shondra’s sister’s comment that hit me hardest “you never say yes to anything.” That’s not entirely true for me but true enough that it shook me…the queen of putting up barriers and walls. A counsellor suggested I don’t have to knock them all down but it’s okay to peek over the top to see what’s on the other side.

Thanks to Shonda my New Year’s Resolution for 2022 was YES

I joined the Farmers Market and sold greeting cards, ventured to Ontario twice to visit family, went back to the Legion for Friday night dinners, attended a neighbourhood block party with grandson Bowen as my plus one and went to four live concerts. Yay me.

Cue 2023. I wasn’t sure what to call that one. The year of Maybe – I’ll Get Back to You. Looking at my planner from last year there was adventure and self-care. Ontario for my Mom’s birthday, she and we finally fulfilled our bucket list wish of a trip to Hawaii, I joined a bi-weekly yoga class and in November successfully completed another round of Nanowrimo. Short for National Novel Writing Month. Basically you write 50,000 words in 30 days and you’re a winner if you hit the target. I’ve done it three times but this manuscript is slowly growing into a full fledged book. Stay tuned.

Then winter hit me with the blahs, the blues, the mopes and I started holing up again. Curious how it happens so gradually. Without realizing it I found myself in the place where I’ve walked away from things that bring joy. Like spending time in my craft room, going for long walks, writing. Shameful that my last blog post was eight months ago.

Cue 2024. In December I read a blog post by Gretchen Rubin who wrote one of my favourite books The Happiness Project. Each year she creates a check list of things she wants to accomplish. This year it’s called A List of 24 Things for 2024. I filled out the form and it’s posted on my fridge. Includes things like: jammie day, take a solo road trip, reconnect with an old friend, learn how to play happy birthday on my ukulele. Some easily attainable things and others that will take some planning. Big or small my theme for this year is JOY.

I’ll make more of an effort to find it. Today I can tick the “write a blog post about joy” off on my list. One down and 23 more to go.

Hugs from the beach…

Leave a comment