Family, friends and a dash of fabulous…

Two plus years since we’ve all seen each other because…you know…Covid. My sister-in-law booked a surprise birthday lunch for my Mom’s 80th and after thinking about it for about oh I don’t know three seconds I decided it was time to hop on a plane and head east for some Mama hugs. Started off it was just going to be me going by myself. Then I asked Megan if she could come just for the weekend and that morphed into my 5-year-old grandson coming to make it a 4-generation celebration.

The logistics of planes, hotels and limos was just one part of the equation with Megan & Bowen staying for five days and me staying an extra week. Then there was the planning for Megan’s husband staying behind with their almost 3-year-old twin boys. It takes a village for sure so when Justin was working, Nana Claire kept the littles entertained.

The sash is correct. My Mom/Nana/GG is fabulous. A going concern. Meets her Aqua Babe friends in the park a few times a week weather permitting. Has weekly Zoom meetings with her Weight Watchers group. Wears a FitBit easily hitting up to 10,000 steps in a day. Has dinner every Saturday night with my Auntie Betty. And she’s the first to say yes to an adventure.

Somehow (no thanks to me) she had no idea that 20+ family members were waiting behind the door at MT Bellies Restaurant to yell “surprise.” Good time had by all ages 5 to 95. Helium balloon bouquets, cake with a side of cupcakes and photo collages of the birthday girl all helped celebrate our favourite 80-year-old. Who was a very good sport about wearing the sash and a tiara ❤️

We had to be creative with five of us staying in a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment but it worked out great. Megan & Bowen slept on a blow up bed – thanks cousin Dave !! I’m sleeping on a futon in the office and have had some of the best sleep in years. Dealing with a different time zone definitely has something to do with that.

I’m sure Bowen will tower over all of us soon. My Mom gets a big kick out of him and his ”can I tell you something” way of joining a conversation. When you have two noisy and demanding brothers that’s the only way to cut in.

The outdoor pictures were taken in my sister-in-law Robynne’s back yard in St. Catharines. Thanks to my nieces, nephew and their families for coming to visit. There were some emotional hugs having lost two beloved family members in the past two years. It was difficult to visit with everyone individually and I wish we’d had more time. My favourite part was sharing old family photos. And reading a hilarious letter written by Megan’s godfather to my in-laws back in 1979. I’ll send it to you Jim — it’s a keeper !!
Niagara Falls is only 20 minutes away from Welland where I grew up. Back in the day you could drive right up the falls and park to have a look. Now you have to park blocks away and either walk or take a people mover. It’s a bit off season still so we only had the walk option. The first picture is the American Falls (still had some ice off to the sides) and the second picture is the much more dramatic Canadian Falls.
Bowen was enthralled with the falls & Clifton Hill. What’s not to like about a giant Frankenstein on top of Burger King, shooting galleries, tacky tourist souvenirs and a car upside down on the side of a building. He wants to come back to celebrate his 7th birthday next year. We’re all going to start saving now so we can bring the whole family.

On the way home from the Falls we tried our best to find a ship going through the locks or canal but were unsuccessful. We did see some ships docked in Port Colborne and then headed back to Welland to show Bowen the Main Street Bridge. My Mom reminded me our family was there in 1972 the day the very last boat went through the old canal.

I’ve still got five days to visit and catch up with my Mom and am trying very hard to get her to book her trip to Port McNeill for the month of August. Tonight I’m looking forward to pizza & beer at The Rex Hotel with some Centennial High School alumni. There are more adventures to be had.

Hugs from The Rose City

One thought on “Family, friends and a dash of fabulous…

Leave a comment